The 5th meeting of EU-Tajikistan Cooperation Committee takes place in Brussels tomorrow

15/02/2016 16:00
Views: 6276

DUSHANBE, February 15, 2016, Asia-Plus – A Tajik government delegation, led by Foreign Minister Sirojiddin Aslov, will participate in the 5th meeting of the EU-Tajikistan Cooperation Committee that will take place in Brussels on February 16, according to the Tajik MFA information department.

While in Brussels, Aslov is also expected to hold a number of bilateral meetings.

We will recall that the European Union and Tajikistan held their fourth Cooperation Committee meeting on June 10, 2015.  The meeting was chaired by Mr. Gunnar Wiegand, Director for Russia, Eastern Partnership, Central Asia Regional Cooperation and OSCE countries, European External Action Service, as the head of the EU delegation.  The delegation of Tajikistan was led by Mr. Saidrahmon Nazriyev, First Deputy Minister for Economic Development and Trade of Tajikistan.

During the Cooperation Committee, the European Commission reaffirmed its commitment to provide new development funding of €251 million to Tajikistan for the period 2014-2020.

The Cooperation Committee reiterated the importance of a comprehensive implementation of the EU Strategy for Central Asia, both on a regional and national basis, and welcomed Tajikistan’s active engagement in the EU regional initiatives for Central Asia.

The EU called upon the necessity for ensuring human rights, fundamental freedoms and democratic reform. 


News no