CIS prime ministers’ meeting in Dushanbe results in signing of 40 cooperation documents

30/10/2015 15:53
Views: 10543

DUSHANBE, October 30, 2015, Asia-Plus – A session of the Council of Heads of Government of the CIS Member Nations that took place in Dushanbe on October 30 resulted in signing of eight cooperation documents.

At first, the meeting was held in a narrow format, after which the heads of governments were joined by members of delegations, and the meeting continued in an extended format.

The meeting participants included Tajik Prime Minister Qohir Rasoulzoda, Armenian Prime Minister Ovik Abramayan, Belarusian Prime Minister Andrey Kobyakov, Kazakh Prime Minister Karim Masimov, Kyrgyz Prime Minister Temir Sariyev and Russian Prime Minister Dmitry as well as Azerbaijani, Turkmen and Uzbek deputy prime ministers, and Ukrainian Ambassador to Tajikistan Viktor Nikityuk.

The discussed issues related to strengthening and development of partnership, and the tasks set at a recent meeting of the CIS Council of Heads of State held in Kazakhstan.

In all, the meeting’s agenda included 40 issues, most of which devoted to the expansion of trade and economic cooperation between the CIS nations.

About 40 important documents related to economic and humanitarian cooperation were signed during the session, the CIS Executive Secretary Sergei Lebedev told journalists after the meeting.

According to him, the meeting participants adopted the plan of actions for the implementation of the third stage (2016-2020) of the CIS Economic Development Strategy, which is aimed at the development of innovative socially-oriented economy, nuclear energy, alternative fuels, high-technology transport systems, as well as new infrastructure projects.

The meeting participants also adopted the plans of actions for the implementation of the next stages of the International Youth Cooperation Strategy and the Sports and Physical Training Development Strategy.  

They also reviewed the implementation of the agreement on the free trade zone in the narrow format, Lebedev said.

Besides, the meeting participants signed a number of documents on giving a  status of basic organizations to some CIS institutes and agencies.  

The CIS Council of Heads of Government was established on December 21, 1991.  The council is the second major body in the CIS after the CIS Council of Heads of State, and consists of the prime ministers of all member states.  The council coordinates the CIS member states' cooperation in economic, social and other areas of their common interests, and adopts corresponding decisions through consensus.  The CIS Council of Heads of Government convenes twice a year, normally in winter and autumn. Extraordinary meetings are summoned on the initiative of the government of a member state.

Established on December 8, 1991 after the dissolution of the Soviet Union, the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is a regional organization.  It now consists of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.  Georgia pulled out of the organization in 2009.


News no