EPMs arrive in Dushanbe for the 4th EU - Tajikistan Parliamentary Cooperation Committee meeting

05/11/2015 11:42
Views: 9761

DUSHANBE, November 5, 2015, Asia-Plus – The Delegation of the European Union to Tajikistan says the   Central Asia Delegation of the European Parliament is visiting Tajikistan from November 5-6.

The Delegation reportedly includes eight members of the European Parliament, representing all major political groups in the European Parliament.

The main purpose of the visit is the 4th Session of the EU – Tajikistan Parliamentary Cooperation Committee, which will be co-chaired by Ms Iveta Grigule (EP), and Mr. Sharif Rahimzoda (Majlisi Namoyandagon).

As a result of the Parliamentary Cooperation Committee a joint Declaration will be adopted to underline the bilateral cooperation.

Within the frameworks of the visit, the EP delegation is to hold a number of meetings with high-level Government officials.

The planned agenda includes meetings with Emomali Rahmon, President of Tajikistan, Sirojiddin Aslov, Foreign Minister, and Shukurjon Zuhurov, Chairman of Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistan’s lower house of parliament).

The EP delegation will also meet with the International community present in the country, and representatives of local civil society.

The European Parliament (EP) is the directly elected parliamentary institution of the European Union (EU). Together with the Council of the European Union (the Council) and the European Commission, it exercises the legislative function of the EU.

The Parliament is composed of 751 (previously 766) members, who represent the second largest democratic electorate in the world (after the Parliament of India) and the largest trans-national democratic electorate in the world (375 million eligible voters in 2009).  It has been directly elected every five years by universal suffrage since 1979.

The European Union, composed of 28 Member States, is the world’s biggest aid donor.  Tajikistan got the main share of bilateral assistance in the Central Asian region (€66 million for 2007-2010 and 62 million for 2011-2013) in support to sector programs, technical assistance and grants.  It focuses on social protection, health and private sector development, underpinned by public finance management.

Tajikistan also receives regional and thematic assistance in areas like border management and drug control (BOMCA/CADAP), education (TEMPUS, Erasmus Mundus), water / environment, migration, human rights and democracy (EIDHR), non-State actors (NSA) and SME development (CA-Invest).  The EU is active in Tajikistan since 1992 and provides approximately EUR 25 million annually in development assistance.


News no