President appoints six members of Tajikistan’s upper house of parliament

30/03/2015 15:23
Views: 8047

DUSHANBE, March 30, 2015, Asia-Plus – On Monday March 30, Tajik President Emomali Rahmon appointed six members of the Majlisi Milli (Tajikistan’s upper house of parliament).

The following persons were appointed by the president as members of the parliament upper house:

-       Mr. Farhod Rahimov, President of the Academy of Sciences of Tajikistan;

-       Mr. Khairullo Safarzoda, Director General of Open Joint-Stock Company (OJSC) NOB Roghun;

-       Ms. Saodat Aminjonova, Deputy Head Physician, Hospital No 1 in Khujand, Sughd Province;

-       Ms. Mehriniso Bobobekova, Chairwoman of International Foundation “Khuboni Porsigu”;

-       Mr. Murzabay Joshbayev, Chairperson of the Murgab District, Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region (GBAO);

-       Mr. Abdurasoul Nasimov, Head of the Frunze Jamoat, Rumi District in Khatlon Province.     


We will recall that indirect election of members of the Majlisi Milli took place on March 27.

Citizens who reached 35 years of age and have higher education are eligible to be elected to the Majlisi Milli.

The Majlisi Milli has 33 members and 25 of them (three-fourths of the total number of members of the Majlisi Milli) are elected at joint meetings of people’s deputies of the Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region and its cities and districts, provinces and their cities and districts, Dushanbe city and its districts, cities and districts subordinate to the centre, on the basis of indirect elections by means of secret ballot.

Eight members (one-fourths of the members of the Majlisi Milli) are appointed by the President of the Republic of Tajikistan.

The Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region, provinces, Dushanbe City, cities and districts subordinate to the centre have an equal number of representatives in the Majlisi Milli.

Each former President of the Republic of Tajikistan shall be the life member of the Majlisi Milli, if he doesn’t refuse to use this right.

By president’s decree the first meeting of the Majlisi Milli of the fifth convocation will take place in Dushanbe on April 17, 2015.   


News no