Tajik PM to represent Tajikistan at a meeting of the CIS Council of Heads of Government in Bishkek

06/06/2016 14:36
Views: 4008

DUSHANBE, June 6, 2016, Asia-Plus – Prime Minister Qohir Rasoulzoda will represent Tajikistan at a meeting of the CIS Council of Heads of Government that will take place in the Kyrgyz capital, Bishkek, tomorrow.

According to the CIS Executive Committee, more than twenty issues aimed at promoting further expansion of cooperation between the CIS member nations have been tabled to the meeting’s agenda.

The meeting participants will discuss issues related to improving effectiveness of functioning of free economic zones, expansion of innovative cooperation, movement of radioactive material, preservation of agricultural bio diversities, and cooperation in the field of chemical industry.

They are also expected to discuss holding of the 2020 population census in the CIS member nations and a number of issues related to health care cooperation between the CIS member nations.

Besides, the meeting participants will discuss draft decisions on granting status of basic organizations to a number of CIS educational institutions on training specialists for work with youth, demining specialists for the armed forces, specialists on development of youth entrepreneurship, military metrology, etc.

They will also discuss draft decisions on making amendments to the single budget for the CIS institutions, the CIS Executive Committee said.

The CIS Council of Heads of Government was established on December 21, 1991.  The council is the second major body in the CIS after the CIS Council of Heads of State, and consists of the prime ministers of all member states.  The council coordinates the CIS member states' cooperation in economic, social and other areas of their common interests, and adopts corresponding decisions through consensus.  The CIS Council of Heads of Government convenes twice a year, normally in winter and autumn. Extraordinary meetings are summoned on the initiative of the government of a member state.

Established on December 8, 1991 after the dissolution of the Soviet Union, the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is a regional organization.  It now consists of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.  Georgia pulled out of the organization in 2009.


News no