Tajik president becomes honorary professor at Ufa State Oil Technical University

08/07/2015 16:44
Views: 12975

DUSHANBE, July 8, 2015, Asia-Plus – Tajik President Emomali Rahmon has become Honorary Professor at Ufa State Petroleum Technical University (USPTU).

According to the Tajik president’s official website, President Rahmon, who is currently in Ufa to attend a meeting of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Council of Heads of State, today visited the USPTU to meet with teachers and students.

Addressing Tajik students studying at this university, Emomali Rahmon reportedly called on them to study modern sciences and technologies of exploration and development of oil and gas deposits that is important for the future of Tajikistan.

Ufa State Petroleum Technological University is a technological university in the city of Ufa.  In October 1941, Gubkin Russian State University of Oil and Gas was evacuated from Moscow to Ufa.  However, in November 1943 the Gubkin University was returned to Moscow.  On October 4, 1948, the Ufa Petroleum Institute emerged on the basis of Gubkin Russian State University of Oil and Gas.  On November 22, 1993, Ufa Petroleum Institute was renamed to Ufa State Petroleum Technological University.

The USPTY now has eight faculties: Faculty of Automation of Production Processes; Faculty of Mining and Petroleum; Faculty of Mechanics; Institute of Economics; Faculty of Pipelines; Faculty of Humanities; Faculty of Technology; and Faculty of Architecture and Civil Engineering.  There are 3 branches of the USPTU in the Republic of Bashkortostan: in Oktyabrsky; Salavat; and Sterlitamak.


News no